DRAFT MINUTES

TELEPHONE MEETING ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

University of Connecticut February 27, 2024

Committee Trustees:	Joshua Crow, Jeanine Gouin, Bryan Pollard, Philip Rubin
Trustees;	Daniel Toscano
University Senate Representatives:	Joanne Conover, D. Betsy McCoach
University Staff:	Radenka Maric, Anne D'Alleva, Sarah Croucher, Laura Curran, Nathan Fuerst, Amy Gorin, Ofer Harel, Kent Holsinger, Bahram Javidi, Kazem Kazerounian, Gladis Kersaint, Eboni Nelson, Rachel Rubin, Stephany Santos, Daniel Schwartz, Michelle Williams, Cristina Wilson, Reka Wrynn

Vice-Chair Trustee Gouin called the meeting to order at 8:32 a.m.

1. Public Participation

No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.

2. Minutes from the December 5, 2023, Meeting

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the December 5, 2023, Meeting.

There was a request to change the order of agenda items to move Agenda Item #15 Other Business to precede Item #14 Executive Session. On a motion by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the Committee voted unanimously to move Agenda Item #15 before Agenda Item #14.

- 3. Designation of Emeritus Status
- 4. Sabbatical Leave Recommendations

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Crow, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend Agenda Items #3 and #4 to the full Board for approval.

- 5. Establishment of the Department of Geography, Sustainability, Community and Urban Studies in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
- 6. Establishment of the Department of Social and Critical Inquiry in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend Agenda Items #5 and #6 to the full Board for approval.

- 7. Appointment of Professor Bahram Javidi to the SNET Professor of Communications and Information Technology in the College of Engineering
- 8. Appointment of Professor Stephany Santos to the Vergnano Endowed Chair for Inclusion in the College of Engineering
- 9. Appointment of Professor Cristina Wilson to the Judith M. and Henry M. Zachs Chair in the School of Social Work
- 10. Naming Recommendation for the Marlene L. Cohen and Jerome H. Fleisch Chair in Vascular Biology in the School of Medicine

On a motion by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend Agenda Items #7 - #10 to the full Board for approval.

11. Academic Program Inventory

Item #11 was provided to the Committee as an informational item.

- 12. Faculty Consulting Program
 - The University of Connecticut Consulting Program FY23 Annual Report
 - Report on the University of Connecticut's compliance with CGS 1-84(r) Faculty Consulting Program: Report Issued by the Faculty Consulting

Item #12 was provided to the Committee as an informational item.

13. U.S. News Reporting for UConn Law

Provost D'Alleva provided an update to the Committee on UConn Law's participation in U.S. News Reporting rankings. Previously, UConn Law had ceased providing information to U.S. News as part of a broader movement by Law Schools to address issues in the ranking system. Beginning with the current cycle of rankings, UConn Law will again participate in providing information to U.S. News to be considered in their rankings of law schools.

14. Other Business

University Senate Representative Joanne Conover introduced a letter shared with her by a student related to the importance of small class sizes. There was a general discussion highlighting the role of smaller class sizes in effective teaching and learning, including the impact on students' mental health. President Maric suggested that a future meeting could include discussion of data collected from undergraduate student surveys on academic support.

15. Executive Session

EXECUTIVE SESSION

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Crow, the Committee voted unanimously to go into Executive Session at 9:08 a.m. regarding:

1. Preliminary drafts or notes provided the public agency has determined that the public interest in withholding such documents clearly outweighs the public interest in disclosure [CGS Section 1-210(b)(1)].

The following Committee Trustees were in attendance for the entire Executive Session: Crow, Gouin, Pollard, and Rubin.

Board Chair Toscano also attended the entire Executive Session.

The following University staff were in attendance for the entire Executive Session: Maric, D'Alleva, Kersaint, Rubin, Williams, Wrynn, and Lohrey.

The Executive Session ended at 9:49 a.m., and the Committee returned to Open Session at 9:50 a.m.

16. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 9:51 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Alexis M. Lohrey Secretary to the Committee