## **MINUTES**

## TELEPHONE MEETING ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

University of Connecticut October 24, 2023

Committee Trustees: Jeanine Gouin, Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Bryan Pollard,

Philip Rubin

Other Trustees: Daniel Toscano

University Senate Representatives: D. Betsy McCoach

University Staff: Anne D'Alleva, Sarah Croucher, Nathan Fuerst, Gladis

Kersaint, Rachel Rubin, Michelle Williams, Xiao-Dong Zhou

Vice-Chair Gouin called the meeting to order at 8:32 a.m.

1. Public Participation

No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.

2. Minutes from the September 26, 2023, Meeting

On a motion by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted to approve the minutes of the September 26, 2023, meeting.

- 3. Designation of Emeritus Status
- 4. Sabbatical Leave Recommendations

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend Agenda Items #3-4 to the full Board for approval.

- 5. Graduate Certificate in Plant-Based Food and Nutrition in the College of Agriculture, Health, and Natural Resources
- 6. Graduate Certificate in Financial Risk Management in the School of Business

On a motion by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend Agenda Items #5-6 to the full Board for approval.

7. Establishment of the Vergnano Endowed Chair for Inclusion

On a motion by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend Agenda Item #7 to the full Board for approval.

8. Modification of the Nicholas E. Madonna Chair in Cyber-Physical Systems in the College of Engineering

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend Agenda Item #8 to the full Board for approval.

- 9. Appointment of Professor Xiao-Dong Zhou to the Nicholas E. Madonna Chair in Sustainability in the College of Engineering
- 10. Appointment of Associate Professor Fei Miao to the Pratt & Whitney Associate Professorship in Advanced Systems Engineering in the College of Engineering
- 11. Reappointment of Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor Diane J. Burgess to the Pfizer Distinguished Chair in Pharmaceutical Technology in the School of Pharmacy
- 12. Reappointment of Professor Marie A. Smith to the Dr. Henry A. Palmer Professorship in Community Pharmacy Practice in the School of Pharmacy

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend Agenda Items #9-12 to the full Board for approval.

13. Academic Program Inventory

Item #13 was provided to the Committee as an informational item.

14. Other Business

There was no Other Business.

15. Executive Session (as needed)

There was no Executive Session.

16. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn. The meeting ended at 8:47 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Alexis M. Lohrey Secretary to the Committee