#### **DRAFT MINUTES**

#### SPECIAL TELEPHONE MEETING

# University of Connecticut Board of Trustees Honors & Awards Committee November 27, 2023

Committee Trustees: Bryan Pollard, Philip Rubin, Daniel Toscano

Other Committee Members: Radenka Maric, A. Mehdi Anwar, Emmanouil Anagnostou,

Anne D'Alleva, Louis Hanzlik, Bruce Liang, Dontae Richards

University Staff: Maryann Markowski, Brandon Murray, Rachel Rubin,

Michelle Williams, Cara Workman

President Maric called the meeting to order at 3:40 p.m.

1. Public Participation (limited to agenda items)

No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.

2. Minutes of the Special Meeting of March 27, 2023

On a motion by Board Chair Toscano, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the March 27, 2023, Special Meeting.

#### 3. Executive Session

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the Committee voted unanimously to go into Executive Session at 3:46 p.m. regarding:

Preliminary drafts or notes provided the public agency has determined that
the public interest in withholding such documents clearly outweighs the public
interest in disclosure [pursuant to Connecticut General Statute (CGS) Section 1210(b)(1)].

The following Committee members were in attendance: Maric, Anwar, Anagnostou, D'Alleva, Hanzlik, Liang, Richards, Rubin, and Toscano.

Trustee Pollard was in attendance for part of the Executive Session.

The following University staff were in attendance for the entire Executive Session: Markowski, Murray, Rubin, Williams, and Workman.

The Executive Session ended at 4:53 p.m., and the Committee returned to Open Session at 4:54 p.m.

## 4. Honorary Degree Nominees

The Committee will meet at a future date to confirm nominees and vote on a recommendation to the Board.

### 5. Adjournment

On a motion by UConn Health Executive Vice President Liang, seconded by Professor Anagnostou, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting. The Committee meeting adjourned at 4:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Maryann Markowski Staff to the Committee