MINUTES

SPECIAL TELEPHONE MEETING

University of Connecticut Board of Trustees Honors & Awards Committee March 27, 2023

Committee Trustees: Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Bryan Pollard, Daniel Toscano

Other Committee Members: Radenka Maric, A. Mehdi Anwar, Emmanouil Anagnostou,

Anamaria Arteaga, Anne D'Alleva, Louis Hanzlik,

Bruce Liang

University Staff: Maryann Markowski, Rachel Rubin, Michelle Williams,

Cara Workman

President Maric convened the meeting at 1:31 p.m.

1. Public Participation (limited to agenda items)

No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.

2. Minutes of the Special Meeting of November 16, 2022

On a motion by Trustee Bryan Pollard, seconded by Trustee Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the November 16, 2022, special meeting.

3. Executive Session

On a motion by Board Chair Daniel Toscano, seconded by Trustee Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to go into Executive Session at 1:35 p.m. regarding:

• Preliminary drafts or notes provided the public agency has determined that the public interest in withholding such documents clearly outweighs the public interest in disclosure [pursuant to Connecticut General Statute (CGS) Section 1-210(b)(1)].

Committee members in attendance for the Entire Executive Session: Maric, Anagnostou, Anwar, Arteaga, D'Alleva, Dennis-LaVigne, Hanzlik, Liang, and Pollard.

University staff in attendance for the entire Executive Session: Markowski, Rubin, Williams, and Workman.

The Executive Session ended at 1:52 p.m., and the Committee returned to Open Session at 1:53 p.m.

4. Honorary Degree Nominees

On a motion by Trustee Bryan Pollard, seconded by Professor Louis Hanzlik, the Committee voted unanimously to recommend that the Board of Trustees award honorary degrees to the following individuals:

- 1. Joshua Angrist
- 2. Trisha Bailey
- 3. Renee Joskow
- 4. Alfredo Quiñones-Hinojosa
- 5. John Mather
- 6. Rashaad Newsome
- 7. Talitha Washington
- 8. Mone Zaidi

5. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Bryan Pollard, seconded by Board Chair Daniel Toscano, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting. The Committee meeting adjourned at 1:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Maryann Markowski Staff to the Committee