#### **DRAFT MINUTES**

# Special Telephone Meeting

# TRUSTEE-ADMINISTRATION-FACULTY-STUDENT (TAFS) COMMITTEE

University of Connecticut April 24, 2023

### **Committee Members**

Committee Trustees: Jeanine Gouin, Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Philip Rubin

University Administration: Radenka Maric, Anne D'Alleva, Lloyd Blanchard, Nathan

Fuerst, Tysen Kendig, Michael Mundrane, Frank Tuitt,

Daniel Weiner

Senate Executive Committee: Pamela Bedore, Marisa Chrysochoou, Kate Fuller, Joseph

MacDougald, Carl Rivers, Margaret Rubega, Del Siegle,

Peter Spinelli, Manuela Wagner

University Students: Gabrielle Corso (President, Graduate Student Senate), Jon

Heiden (President-Elect, Undergraduate Student Senate),

Jessica Lockwood (Chair, Residence Hall Advisory

Board)

**Guests** 

Other Trustees: Andy Bessette, Shari Cantor, Marilda Gandara

University Senate Representatives: Joanne Conover, Sebastian Wogenstein

University Staff: Sarah Croucher, Amy Gorin, Fany Hannon, Gladis

Kersaint, Rachel Rubin, Jeffrey Shoulson, Tadarrayl

Starke

Provost D'Alleva convened the meeting on behalf of President Maric at 1:03 p.m.

1) Public Participation (limited to agenda items)

There were no members of the public who addressed the Committee.

2) Minutes of the Special Meeting of November 16, 2022

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the November 16, 2022, special meeting.

### 3) Supporting Student Success at UConn

Dr. Tadarrayl Starke, Associate Vice Provost for Student Success, shared a presentation on the state of undergraduate student success, challenges students are facing and what support the university has or is putting in place.

There was a general discussion of observations on academic success of students and the impact the COVID-19 global pandemic has had on students, especially in the Pre-K through 12 grade years.

# 4) Open Discussion and Identification of Agenda Items for Next Meeting

Chair Gouin thanked all in attendance for their participation and asked Committee Members to reach out with suggestions for future agenda items.

# 5) Adjournment

On a motion by Committee Member Siegle, seconded by Committee Member Mundrane, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 2:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Alexis Cassan

Alexis Cassan Executive Assistant to the Provost