MINUTES

SPECIAL TELEPHONE MEETING

UNIVERSITY OF CONNECTICUT BOARD OF TRUSTEES HONORS AND AWARDS COMMITTEE

Meeting held by Telephone

October 27, 2022

The Committee meeting was called to order at 1:02 p.m. by President Maric.

The following Committee members were in attendance: Board Chair Daniel D. Toscano, President Radenka Maric, Trustee Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Trustee Bryan Pollard, Trustee Philip Rubin, Interim Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs Anne D'Alleva, Interim Executive Vice President for Health Affairs Bruce Liang, Professor A. Mehdi Anwar, Professor Emmanouil Anagnostou, Professor Louis Hanzlik, Anamaria Arteaga, and Christopher Bergen.

University staff present were: Executive Secretary to the Board Rachel Rubin, University Events and Conference Services Director Cara Workman, and Assistant Executive Secretary to the Board Susan Locke.

- 1. Public Participation (limited to agenda items)
 - No members of the public signed up to address the Committee.
- 2. Minutes of the Special Meeting of May 6, 2021
 - Trustee Rubin noted an error in the attendance of the minutes of the May 6, 2021, special meeting. On a motion by Dr. Rubin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the May 6, 2021, special meeting, as amended.
- 3. Discussion of Honorary Degree nominees
 - On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to change the order of the agenda and go into Executive Session.
- 4. Executive Session (as needed)
 - On a motion by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee voted unanimously to go into Executive Session at 1:08 p.m. regarding:
 - 1. Preliminary drafts or notes provided the public agency has determined that the public interest in withholding such documents clearly outweighs the public interest in disclosure [pursuant to Connecticut General Statute (CGS) Section 1-210(b)(1)].

The following members were in attendance: Anagnostou, Anwar, Arteaga, Bergen, D'Alleva, Dennis-LaVigne, Hanzlik, Liang, Maric, Pollard, Rubin, and Toscano.

The following University staff were in attendance for the entire Executive Session: Locke, Rubin, and Workman.

The Executive Session ended at 2:15 p.m., and the Committee returned to Open Session at 2:16 p.m.

5. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Interim Executive Vice President Liang, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting. The Committee meeting adjourned at 2:16 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Rachel S. Rubin Executive Secretary to the Board