TELEPHONE MEETING

UNIVERSITY OF CONNECTICUT BOARD OF TRUSTEES

MINUTES

Meeting held by Telephone

August 3, 2022

The Board of Trustees meeting was called to order at 9:04 a.m. by Board Chair Daniel D. Toscano.

The following Trustees were in attendance: Trustees Andy F. Bessette, Trustees Mark L. Boxer, Charles F. Bunnell, Shari G. Cantor, Sanford Cloud, Jr., Joshua Crow, Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Damani R. Douglas, Marilda L. Gandara, Jeanine A. Gouin, Kevin J. O'Connor, Bryan K. Pollard, Philip E. Rubin, Charlene M. Russell-Tucker, Daniel D. Toscano, and Paul Mounds, Jr., Governor Lamont's designee.

Trustees Bryan P. Hurlburt, David Lehman, Rebecca Lobo, and Thomas D. Ritter were not in attendance.

The following University Senate Representatives attended the meeting: Karen Bresciano, Joanne Conover, and Sebastian Wogenstein.

The following University staff attended the meeting in person: Interim President Radenka Maric, Interim Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs Anne D'Alleva, Interim Vice President for Finance and Chief Financial Officer Lloyd Blanchard, UConn Health Interim Executive Vice President for Health Affairs and Chief Executive Officer Bruce Liang, Athletic Director David Benedict, Executive Secretary to the Board Rachel Rubin, University Chief of Staff and General Counsel Nicole Gelston, Vice President for Communications Tysen Kendig, Associate Vice President for Communications Michael Kirk, Associate Vice President, Master Planner and Chief Architect Laura Cruickshank, Executive Director of Employee Relations Karen Buffkin, and UConn Health Chief Financial Officer Jeffrey Geoghegan.

OPEN SESSION

1. Public Participation

No members of the public wished to address the Board.

2. Chairman's Report

(a) Matters outstanding

Board Chair Toscano welcomed Student Trustees Damani Douglas and Joshua Crow to their first Board meeting.

He also acknowledged incoming University Senate Representatives Ms. Karen Bresciano, Professor Joanne Conover, Professor Jeffrey McCutcheon, and Ms. Angela Rola, whose terms began July 1.

August 3, 2022

(b) Minutes of the meeting of June 29, 2022

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Gouin, the Board voted unanimously to approve the minutes of the meeting of June 29, 2022.

(c) Consent Agenda Items:

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Bunnell, the Board voted unanimously to approve the Consent Agenda items.

- (1) Tenure at Hire (Attachment 1)
- (2) Promotion and Tenure (Attachment 2)
- (3) Appointment of Assistant Professor Karolina Heyduk to
 the Rosalind Chair in the Department of Ecology and
 Evolutionary Biology in the College of Liberal Arts
 and Sciences

 (Attachment 3)
- (4) Advanced Business Certificate in Financial Technology (Attachment 4)
- (5) Naming of Nancy Stevens Field (Attachment 5)
- (6) Naming of Diane Wright Way (Attachment 6)
- (7) Student Life Committee Membership (Attachment 7)
- 3. President's Report
- 4. Academic Affairs Committee Report
 - (a) Report on Committee activities
- 5. Financial Affairs Committee Report
 - (a) Report on Committee activities
 - (b) Items requiring Board discussion and approval:

On a motion by Trustee Douglas, seconded by Trustee Boxer, the Board voted unanimously to approve the Biennium Budget items for Storrs and UConn Health in Attachments 8 and 9.

- (1) Biennium State Appropriation Request for Fiscal Years 2024 and 2025 for the University of Connecticut, Storrs and Regional Campuses (Attachment 8)
- (2) UConn Health's State Appropriation Current Services (Attachment 9) Request for the Upcoming Biennium (Fiscal Years 2024 and 2025)

On a motion by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Board voted unanimously to approve the Project Budgets in Attachments 10 and 11.

- (3) Project Budget (Final) for Residential Life Facilities: (Attachment 10) South Campus Residence Hall
- (4) Project Budget (Final) for Gilbert Road Site Preparation (Attachment 11)

August 3, 2022

- 6. Institutional Advancement Committee Report
 - (a) Report on Committee activities
- 7. Other business
- 8. Executive Session anticipated

EXECUTIVE SESSION

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Bessette, the Board voted unanimously to go into Executive Session at 10:10 a.m. regarding:

1. Pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes Section 1-200(6)(B), to discuss strategy and negotiations with respect to pending claims or pending litigation to which the public agency or a member thereof, because of the member's conduct as a member of such agency, is a party until such litigation or claim has been finally adjudicated or otherwise settled.

The following Trustees were in attendance: Trustees Bessette, Boxer, Bunnell, Cantor, Cloud, Crow, Dennis-LaVigne, Douglas, Gandara, Gouin, O'Connor, Pollard, Rubin, Russell-Tucker, Toscano, and Mounds, Governor Lamont's designee.

The following University staff were in attendance for the entire Executive Session: Maric, D'Alleva, Blanchard, Kendig, Rubin, Gelston, Kirk, and Buffkin.

The following staff members of the State of Connecticut Office of the Attorney General were in attendance for part of the Executive Session: Margaret Chapple, Matthew Larock, Daniel Shapiro, and Alayna Stone.

The Executive Session ended at 11:32 a.m., and the Board returned to Open Session at 11:33 a.m.

9. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee O'Connor, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the Board voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting.

There being no further business appearing, the Board meeting adjourned at 11:35 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Andrea Dennis-LaVigne Secretary