SPECIAL TELEPHONE MEETING

UNIVERSITY OF CONNECTICUT BOARD OF TRUSTEES HONORS AND AWARDS COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Meeting held by Telephone

May 6, 2021

The Committee meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by President Katsouleas.

The following Committee members were in attendance: Chairman Toscano, President Katsouleas, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs Lejuez, Trustee Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Trustee Bryan Pollard, Trustee Philip Rubin, Professor Janine Caira, Professor Louis Hanzlik, and Professor Mohamed Hussein.

Also in attendance was Trustee Thomas Ritter, Executive Secretary to the Board Rubin, and UConn Foundation President and Chief Executive Officer Roberts.

1. Public Participation (limited to agenda items)

There were no members of the public who wished to address the Committee.

2. Minutes of the Special Meeting of November 20, 2019

On a motion by Dr. Rubin, seconded by Professor Caira, the Committee voted to approve the minutes of the special meeting of November 20, 2019.

(Trustee Pollard abstained from voting on the minutes of the meeting of November 20.)

3. University Medal Recommendation

On a motion by Dr. Rubin, seconded by Professor Caira, the Committee considered the nomination of a University Medal to Mr. Scott Brohinsky, former Director of University Relations, for his commitment, loyalty, and oversight of crucial University milestones over his 19-year career at UConn and his legislative guidance and strong advocacy during the enactment of UCONN 2000 and 21st Century UCONN Programs, to name a few.

After several comments were made in support of this nomination for Mr. Brohinsky, the Committee voted unanimously to approve.

Trustee Ritter recommended celebrating this honor at an event sometime in the fall.

4. Executive Session anticipated

No Executive Session was held.

5. Adjournment

On a motion by Dr. Rubin, seconded by Mr. Pollard, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting.

There being no further business appearing, the Committee meeting adjourned at 3:09 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Rachel S. Rubin Executive Secretary to the Board