## **MINUTES**

## **BUILDINGS, GROUNDS AND ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE**

University of Connecticut Teleconference April 12, 2022

COMMITTEE TRUSTEES: Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Marilda Gandara, Justin Fang

and Jeanine Gouin

**UCONN HEALTH BOD** 

COMMITTEE MEMBERS: Francis Archambault, Jr. and Richard Carbray, Jr.

OTHER TRUSTEES: Thomas Ritter

UNIVERSITY STAFF: Donna Balskus, Lloyd Blanchard, Patricia Casey,

Robert Corbett, Laura Cruickshank, Nicole Gelston, Michael Gilbert, David Hook, Michael Jednak, George Karsanow, Michael Kirk, Eric Kruger, Nathan LaVallee, Carl Lejuez, Lynn Lesniak, Joann Lombardo, Angelo Quaresima, Stephanie Reitz, Rachel Rubin, Robert Sitkowski, Joseph Thompson, Kristen Wirtanen, and

Reka Wrynn

Vice-Chair Marilda Gandara convened a meeting of the Buildings, Grounds and Environment (BGE) Committee at 10:01 a.m. via teleconference. There being no requests for Public Comment, Trustee Gandara directed the Committee to agenda *Item #3, Approval of the Minutes of the Buildings, Grounds and Environment Committee Meeting of October 18, 2021.* On a motion by Trustee Gouin and seconded by Mr. Archambault, the item was approved.

The Committee was directed to agenda *Item #4*, *Office of Construction Assurance*. David Hook, Construction Auditor, presented the 6th Biennial Report of the Construction Management Oversight Committee. Mr. Hook noted they are on track to present the 7<sup>th</sup> Biennial Report to the Board in June.

George Karsanow, Interim Associate Vice President for UConn Health Campus Planning, Design & Construction, briefed the Committee on agenda *Item #5, UConn Health Updates*. The presentation included Covid 19 updates, Bioscience CT, and Capital Projects Metrics. Also of note, UConn Health has applied for a grant for a new data center.

Joseph Thompson, Associate Vice President of University Business Services and Chief Procurement Officer, reviewed agenda *Item #6, University Business Services – Capital Projects and Facilities Procurement Operational Activities and Organizational Improvements.* Mr. Thompson briefed the Committee on University Business Services ongoing operational and organizational improvements. An update on the HuskyBuy Sourcing Bidding Module was also given.

Laura Cruickshank, Associate Vice President for University Planning, Design and Construction, detailed agenda *Item #7, Project Update ~ Storrs Based Programs*. The presentation highlighted the following projects; Alumni Resident Halls Roof Replacement, von der Mehden Recital Hall Roof Restoration, and North Eagleville Road & Discovery Drive Intersection Improvements.

On a motion by Trustee Gouin and seconded by Trustee Fang, the Committee voted to add an Easement to the agenda. Robert Corbett, Executive Director & Director of Real Estate and Regional Projects, presented the Easement of the Norman Tehrani Marital Trust at 1194 Washington Street, Stamford CT. On a motion by Trustee Gouin and seconded by Trustee Fang, the Easement was approved.

Michael Jednak, Associate Vice President of Facilities Operations & Building Services discussed three projects on agenda *Item* #7, those being the Main Campus Substation Switchgear Relay Replacement, Facilities Operations Building Merger of Parking Services and Andover Infrastructure and Software Upgrades.

The Committee was directed to review the information items on the agenda at their convenience.

On a motion by Trustee Gouin and seconded by Trustee Fang, the Committee voted to go into Executive Session at 10:43 a.m. for a discussion concerning preliminary drafts or notes provided the public agency has determined that the public interest in withholding such documents clearly outweighs the public interest in disclosure; per Connecticut General Statutes, Section 210(b)(1).

Trustees participating in the Executive Session included: Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Marilda Gandara, Justin Fang, Jeanine Gouin, and Thomas Ritter.

UConn Health Board of Directors Committee members participating in the entire Executive Session included: Francis Archambault, Jr. and Richard Carbray, Jr.

University staff participating in the entire Executive Session included: Donna Balskus, Lloyd Blanchard, Robert Corbett, Laura Cruickshank, Nicole Gelston, Michael Gilbert, Michael Kirk, Nathan LaVallee, Carl Lejuez, Joann Lombardo, Rachel Rubin, Kristin Wirtanen, and Reka Wrynn.

The Executive Session ended at 11:47 a.m., and the Committee returned to Open Session at 11:48 a.m.

On a motion by Trustee Gouin and seconded by Trustee Fang, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting. There being no further business appearing, the Committee adjourned at 11:48 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Donna M. Balskus on behalf of

Donna M. Balskus

Debbie L. Carone, Secretary to the Committee

Page 2 of 2