## MINUTES MEETING OF THE ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

University of Connecticut Teleconference March 29, 2022

Committee Trustees:	Justin Fang, Jeanine Gouin and Philip Rubin
University Senate Representatives:	Sandra Chafouleas and Sebastian Wogenstein
University Staff:	Mohamad Alkadry, Sarah Croucher, Nathan Fuerst, Kristi Henderson, Philip Hritcko, Jason Irizarry, Gladis Kersaint, Carl Lejuez, Radenka Maric, Brandon Murray, David Noble, Kylene Perras, Rachel Rubin, Jeffrey Shoulson, Megan Staples and Reka Wrynn

Vice-Chair Gouin convened the meeting at 1:00 p.m.

1. Public Participation

There were no members of the public who wished to address the Committee.

2. Academic Affairs Update

Vice-Chair Gouin invited Provost Lejuez to introduce the academic updates portion of the meeting. Provost Lejuez introduced Associate Professor Megan Staples, a faculty member in the Neag School of Education. Dr. Staples spoke briefly about her scholarship and work as principal investigator of Developing Mathematics Teacher Leaders for Connecticut Alliance School Districts, funded by the National Science Foundation's Robert Noyce Teacher Scholarship Program. Vice-Chair Gouin commended Dr. Staples and echoed the importance of math education and her appreciation for the focus of impact on those most vulnerable in this space. Trustee Rubin followed by emphasizing how important this activity is and thanked Dr. Staples for providing this update.

Provost Lejuez then introduced David Noble, Director of the Peter J. Werth Institute for Entrepreneurship and Innovation. Director Noble spoke briefly about the Werth Innovator F3 Cohort program which launched in 2020 to address the gender gap that exists in the business world when it comes to female-founded ventures. Director Noble then introduced Sudiksha (Sudzy) Mallick, who was part of the inaugural program which introduced her to the Werth Institute. Sudzy spoke about her experience in this program and her introduction to entrepreneurship and innovation. Sudzy is majoring in political science and human rights, and has founded a startup company called SmartCards, an ed-tech company using Augmented Reality to change how children study. Vice-Chair Gouin applauded Sudzy for her creativity and commented that examples like this are exactly the purpose of the Werth Institute. Trustee Rubin shared his appreciation for the work happening in the Werth Institute and congratulated Sudzy on her successes. Interim President Maric shared her congratulations as well.

Provost Lejuez then shared that Law School Dean Eboni Nelson recently served on a panel organized by the Governor's Council on Women and Girls entitled: Preserving our History; Preparing for our Future: A Conversation with Black Women Leaders in Education. 3. Minutes of the Academic Affairs Committee Meeting from January 25, 2022.

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Fang, the Committee voted unanimousl to approve the minutes of the January 25, 2022, meeting.

4. Tenure at Hire

Provost Lejuez introduced *Action Item #4, Tenure at Hire*. On a motion by Trustee Fang, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the item was recommended to the full Board for approval.

5. Promotion Recommendation

Provost Lejuez introduced *Action Item #5, Promotion Recommendation*. On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Fang, the item was recommended to the full Board for approval.

6. Designation of Emeritus Status

Provost Lejuez introduced *Action Item #6, Designation of Emeritus Status*. On a motion by Trustee Fang, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the item was recommended to the full Board for approval.

7. Sabbatical Leave Recommendations

Provost Lejuez introduced *Action Item #7, Sabbatical Leave Recommendations*. On a motion by Trustee Fang, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the item was recommended to the full Board for approval.

8. Appointment of Professor José E. Manautou, Ph.D. to the Boehringer-Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Chair in Mechanistic Toxicology

Provost Lejuez introduced Action Item #8, Appointment of Professor José E. Manautou, Ph.D. to the Boehringer-Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Chair in Mechanistic Toxicology. On a motion by Trustee Fang, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the item was recommended to the full Board for approval.

9. Graduate Certificate in Literacy Leadership

Provost Lejuez introduced *Action Item #9, Graduate Certificate in Literacy Leadership*. On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Fang, the item was recommended to the full Board for approval.

10. Graduate Certificate in Oceanographic Science & Technology

Provost Lejuez introduced *Action Item #10, Graduate Certificate in Oceanographic Science & Technology*. On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Fang, the item was recommended to the full Board for approval. There was a general discussion regarding the increase of graduate certificate availability and its positive impact on workforce development and partnerships with industry partners.

11. Establishment of the School of Public Policy

Provost Lejuez introduced *Action Item #11, Establishment of the School of Public Policy*. On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Fang, the item was recommended to the full Board for approval.

12. Faculty Consulting Program

Provost Lejuez introduced *Informational Item #12, Faculty Consulting Program*. This report is shared annually with the Board of Trustees.

13. Academic Program Inventory

Provost Lejuez introduced Informational Item #13, Academic Program Inventory.

14. Notification of Proposed Changes to the By-Laws of the University of Connecticut

Provost Lejuez introduced *Discussion Item 4, Notification of Proposed Changes to the By-Laws of the University of Connecticut*. This includes proposed changes to Article XII – The Institutes and Centers in Academic Affairs, Article XIV.K – Retirement, and Article XIV.L – Leaves of Absence. There were no questions or discussion on any of the proposed changes.

15. Adjournment

There being no further business, Trustee Fang called a motion to close the meeting, seconded by Trustee Rubin. Vice-Chair Gouin adjourned the meeting at 2:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Alexis M. Cassan Committee Secretary