MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE ON COMPENSATION

University of Connecticut Teleconference January 10, 2022

TRUSTEES PARTICIPATING: Chuck Bunnell, Shari Cantor, and Daniel Toscano

STAFF PARTICIPATING: Andrew Agwunobi, Lloyd Blanchard, Michael Kirk,

Rachel Rubin, Kimberly Fearney, Christopher Delello, and

Donna Balskus

Committee Vice-Chair Bunnell convened the meeting of the Committee on Compensation at 12:32 p.m. via teleconference. He asked for a roll call of those participating and asked if there were any members of the public who wished to speak on the agenda items. There being no public comment, he directed the Committee to agenda *Item #2, Approval of the Minutes of the Committee on Compensation Meeting of February 24, 2021.* On a motion by Chairman Toscano and seconded by Trustee Cantor, the item was approved as circulated.

Rachel Rubin, Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees, detailed agenda Item #3, Review of *Committee Guidelines*. The Committee endorsed a change to the guidelines to clarify the process regarding promotions. Going forward, when the University proposes the promotion of an employee to a newly created senior administrative position, the Committee will review only upon the recommendation of the vice-chair of the committee in consultation with the President.

On a motion by Trustee Cantor and seconded by Chairman Toscano, the Committee voted to go into Executive Session at 12:40 p.m. for a discussion concerning the appointment, employment, performance, evaluation, health or dismissal of a public officer or employee, provided that such individual may require that discussion be held at an open meeting; Pursuant to Connecticut General Statute Section 1-200 (6)(A), and discussion of preliminary drafts and notes whose disclosure does not outweigh the public benefit of withholding them; Pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes Section 1-210 (b)(1).

Trustees participating in the session included: Chuck Bunnell, Shari Cantor, and Daniel Toscano.

University staff participating in the session included: Andrew Agwunobi, Lloyd Blanchard, Michael Kirk, Rachel Rubin, Kimberly Fearney, and Christopher Delello.

The Committee returned to open session at 12:55 p.m. and the meeting was adjourned at 12:56 p.m. on a motion by Trustee Cantor and seconded by Chairman Toscano.

Respectfully submitted,

Donna M. Balskus

Donna M. Balskus, on behalf of

Debbie L. Carone Secretary to the Committee