## MINUTES MEETING OF THE ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

University of Connecticut Wilbur Cross Building North Reading Room (Room 109) 233 Glenbrook Road Storrs, Connecticut October 27, 2021

**COMMITTEE TRUSTEES:** Dennis-LaVigne (virtual), Fang (in person), Gouin (in person),

Lobo (virtual), and Rubin (virtual)

ADDITIONAL TRUSTEES: Bessette (virtual), Boxer (virtual), Cantor (virtual), Frank (in

person), Gandara (virtual), Ritter (virtual), Toscano (in person), and

Mounds, who represents Governor Lamont (virtual)

Bird (virtual), Chafouleas (virtual), Luz-Fernandez (in person), **UNIVERSITY SENATE** REPRESENTATIVES:

Van Heest (virtual), Weingart (in person), Wogenstein (in person),

and Yalof (in person)

**UNIVERSITY STAFF:** Agwunobi, Blanchard, Chaubey, Cruickshank, Fuerst, Geoghegan,

Jednak, Kendig, Lejuez, Maric, Mundrane, Reitz, and Rubin (all attended in person)

Committee Vice-Chair Gouin convened the meeting at 9:08 a.m.

No public comment was volunteered on any of the agenda items.

On a motion by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Fang, the minutes of the September 29, 2021, meeting were approved as circulated.

Provost Lejuez introduced Action Item #2 Tenure at Hire. Moved by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Fang, the Committee recommended approval to the full Board.

Provost Lejuez introduced Action Item #3 Designation of Emeritus Status. Moved by Trustee Fang, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the Committee recommended approval to the full Board.

Provost Lejuez introduced Action Item #4 Sabbatical Leaves. Moved by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the Committee recommended approval to the full Board.

Provost Lejuez shared an academic affairs update which outlined the many accomplishments and successes of academic units and faculty across the University as well as a few leadership updates. Trustee Gouin commended the impressive awards won by our faculty.

Trustee Rubin called for a motion to close the meeting, seconded by Trustee Fang. Vice-Chair Gouin adjourned the meeting at 9:20 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Alexis M. Cassan Committee Secretary