Special Telephone Meeting

University of Connecticut Board of Trustees Institutional Advancement Committee

MINUTES

Meeting held by Telephone July 28, 2021 Committee Trustees: Dr. Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Shari G. Cantor, Jeanine A. Gouin, Rebecca Lobo, and Bryan K. Pollard Additional Trustees: Board Chair Daniel D. Toscano David A. Yalof **University Senate Representative:** Guests: Kathryn Libal and Daniel Weiner Staff: Interim President Agwunobi, Provost Lejuez, Lloyd Blanchard, Gail Garber, Tysen Kendig, Michael Kirk, Jake Lemon, Joann Lombardo, Rachel Rubin, and Lesley Salafia Vice-Chair Dennis-LaVigne called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. 1. Public Participation (limited to agenda items)..... Dr. Dennis-LaVigne There were no members of the public who wished to address the Committee. 2. Renaming of The Thomas J. Dodd Research Center to The Dodd Center for Human Rights Mr. Lemon Attachment 1..... Dr. Weiner UConn Foundation Senior Vice President for Development Lemon, Vice President for Global Affairs Weiner, and Director of the Human Rights Institute Libal provided historical background regarding the creation of The Thomas J. Dodd Research Center in 1995 and an update on the recommendation to rename the building to The Dodd Center for Human Rights. This recommendation not only honors the public service and human rights legacy of both Senators Thomas J. Dodd and Christopher J. Dodd, but also serves to deepen the University's identity and leadership in human rights efforts around the world. Several Trustees and members of the administration spoke in support of this recommendation. After discussion, Dr. Dennis-LaVigne asked for a vote. On a motion by Mr. Pollard, seconded by Ms. Cantor, the Committee voted unanimously to accept the recommendation to rename The Thomas J. Dodd Research Center to The Dodd Center for Human Rights.

- 3. Executive Session (as needed)
- 4. Adjournment

On a motion made by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Cantor, Vice-Chair Dennis-LaVigne adjourned the meeting at 3:22 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Susan A. Locke
Assistant Executive Secretary to the Board