### **TELEPHONE MEETING**

## UNIVERSITY OF CONNECTICUT BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## MINUTES

#### Meeting held by Telephone

May 19, 2021

The Board of Trustees meeting was called to order at 9:01 a.m. by Chairman Daniel D. Toscano.

The following Trustees participated: Trustees Andy Bessette, Mark L. Boxer, Charles F. Bunnell, Shari G. Cantor, Sanford Cloud, Jr., Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Justin Fang, Marilda L. Gandara, Jeanine A. Gouin, Kevin J. O'Connor, Bryan K. Pollard, Thomas D. Ritter, Philip E. Rubin, Charlene M. Russell-Tucker, Daniel D. Toscano, Ethan Werstler, and Paul Mounds, Jr., Governor Lamont's designee.

Trustee Russell-Tucker attended part of the Board meeting.

Trustees Bryan P. Hurlburt, David Lehman, and Rebecca Lobo were not in attendance.

University Senate Representatives Robert Bird, Mark Boyer, Sandra Chafouleas, Maria-Luz Fernandez, Carol Polifroni, Janet Pritchard, Anji Seth, and David Yalof also attended.

The following University staff attended in the meeting: Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs Lejuez, Executive Vice President for Administration and Chief Financial Officer Jordan, UConn Health Executive Vice President for Health Affairs and Chief Executive Officer Agwunobi, Executive Secretary to the Board Rubin, University Chief of Staff and General Counsel Gelston, Vice President for Communications on Special Assignment Kendig, Acting Vice President for Communications Kirk, Vice President for Research, Innovation and Entrepreneurship Maric, Vice President for Enrollment Planning and Management Fuerst, Vice President for Student Affairs Gilbert, Vice President for Global Affairs Weiner, and Athletic Director Benedict.

1. Executive Session anticipated

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

On a motion by Mr. Bunnell, seconded by Ms. Gouin, the Board voted unanimously to go into Executive Session at 9:07 a.m. regarding:

- 1. Pursuant to Connecticut General Statute Section 1-210(b)(1), preliminary drafts and notes whose disclosure does not outweigh the public benefit of withholding them; and
- 2. Pursuant to Connecticut General Statue Section 1-200(6)(a), discussion concerning the appointment, employment, performance, evaluation, health or dismissal of a public officer or employee, provided that such individual may require that discussion be held at an open meeting; and
- 3. Pursuant to Connecticut General Statue Section 1-200(6)(B), strategy and negotiations with respect to pending claims or pending litigation to which the public agency or a member thereof, because of the member's conduct as a member of such agency, is a party until such litigation or claim has been finally adjudicated or otherwise settled.

The following Trustees were in attendance: Trustees Bessette, Boxer, Bunnell, Cantor, Cloud, Dennis-LaVigne, Fang, Gandara, Gouin, O'Connor, Pollard, Ritter, Rubin, Toscano, Werstler, and Paul Mounds, Jr., Governor Lamont's designee.

#### 9641

#### May 19, 2021

Executive Secretary to the Board Rubin, University Chief of Staff and General Counsel Gelston, and Acting Vice President for Communications Kirk were in attendance for the entire Executive Session.

Executive Vice President for Administration and Chief Financial Officer Jordan joined for part of the Executive Session.

The Executive Session ended at 10:20 a.m., and the Board returned to Open Session at 10:21 a.m.

#### **OPEN SESSION**

Ms. Russell-Tucker joined the meeting at this time.

2. Public Participation

There were no members of the public who wished to address the Board.

- 3. Chairman's Report
  - (a) Matters outstanding

Chairman Toscano congratulated University Events and Conference Services Director Cara Workman and her team for their hard work and dedication in planning and executing multiple, in-person, Commencement ceremonies at Pratt & Whitney Stadium at Rentschler Field, which were spread out over a five-day period.

(b) Minutes of the meeting of April 28, 2021

Ms. Gouin moved, seconded by Ms. Cantor, to approve the minutes of the meeting of April 28, 2021. Mr. Pollard asked that the minutes be corrected to reflect that Vice-Chair Dennis-LaVigne chaired the Board meeting on behalf of Chairman Toscano. The Board voted unanimously to approve the minutes as amended.

(c) Consent Agenda Items:

On a motion by Dr. Rubin, seconded by Mr. Werstler, the Board voted unanimously to approve the Consent Agenda items:

(1)	Proposed Changes to the <i>By-Laws of the</i> University of Connecticut	(Attachment 1)
(2)	Designation of Emeritus Status	(Attachment 2)
(3)	Appointment of Professor Morgaen L. Donaldson, EdD to the Philip E. Austin Endowed Chair	(Attachment 3)
(4)	Appointment of Associate Professor Steven Utke, PhD to the Arthur Andersen, LLP Accounting Professorship in the School of Business	(Attachment 4)
(5)	Appointment of Professor Robert Fahey, PhD to the George F. Cloutier Professorship in Forestry in the College of Agriculture, Health & Natural Resources	(Attachment 5)
(6)	Reappointment of Professor Brenda Brueggemann, PhD to the Aetna Chair of Writing in the Department of English in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences	(Attachment 6)

#### 9642

#### May 19, 2021

(7)	Reappointment of Professor Manisha Sinha, PhD to the James L. and Shirley A. Draper Chair in American History in the Department of History in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences	(Attachment 7)
(8)	Graduate Certificate in Systems Genomics: Clinical Communication and Counseling	(Attachment 8)

# 4. Award of University Medal – Mr. Scott Brohinsky (Attachment 9)

Trustee Ritter spoke in strong support of this nomination and outlined the significant contributions made by Mr. Brohinsky.

On a motion by Dr. Rubin, seconded by Dr. Dennis-LaVigne, the Board voted unanimously to award a University Medal to Mr. Scott Brohinsky.

Mr. Brohinsky warmly thanked the Board for this important honor and recognition.

5. Appointment of Interim President

Trustee Cloud introduced a motion to appoint Dr. Andrew Agwunobi to serve as Interim President of the University of Connecticut, effective July 1, 2021, but with delegated authority to act during the transition effective immediately. Dr. Dennis-LaVigne seconded the motion. (A resolution is attached to the Board agenda and the minutes.)

Several Board members spoke in support of the appointment of Dr. Agwunobi, including Mr. Mounds, Chairman Toscano, Mr. Bessette, and Dr. Dennis-LaVigne.

After discussion, the Board voted unanimously to approve the appointment of Dr. Agwunobi as Interim President, effective July 1, 2021.

Dr. Agwunobi thanked the Board for its support and confidence during this transitional period. He stated that he will work diligently with all constituents and stake-holders to support the University's mission.

- 6. Other business
- 7. Adjournment

Chairman Toscano announced that the next regular meeting of the Board was scheduled for Wednesday, June 30, 2021.

On a motion by Dr. Rubin, seconded by Ms. Gouin, the Board voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting.

There being no further business appearing, the Board meeting adjourned at 11:09 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Andrea Dennis-LaVigne Secretary