MINUTES

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BUILDINGS, GROUNDS AND ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE University of Connecticut Teleconference October 18, 2021

COMMITTEE TRUSTEES:	Chuck Bunnell, Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Justin Fang, Marilda Gandara, and Jeanine Gouin
UCONN HEALTH BOD COMMITTEE MEMBERS:	Francis Archambault and Richard Carbray, Jr.
OTHER TRUSTEES:	Thomas Ritter and Board Chair Daniel Toscano
UNIVERSITY STAFF:	Andy Agwunobi, Donna Balskus, Lloyd Blanchard, Debbie Carone, Patricia Casey, Christopher Cipriani, Robert Corbett, Laura Cruickshank, Gail Garber, Nicole Gelston, Lori Hansen, Michael Jednak, Michael Kirk, Frank LaRosa, Nathan LaVallee, Lynn Lesniak, Carl Lejuez, Joann Lombardo, Stephanie Reitz, Rachel Rubin, Joseph Thompson, Sean Vasington, Kristen Wirtanen, and Reka Wrynn

Vice-Chair Marilda Gandara convened a special meeting of the Buildings, Grounds and Environment (BGE) Committee at 11:00 a.m. via teleconference and asked for a roll call of those participating, and asked if there was anyone from the public who wished to speak. There being no requests for Public Comment, Trustee Gandara directed the Committee to agenda *Item #2, Approval of the Minutes of the Buildings, Grounds and Environment Committee Meeting of September 14, 2021.* On a motion by Mr. Archambault and seconded by Trustee Gouin, the item was approved.

Laura Cruickshank, Associate Vice President for University Planning, Design and Construction, detailed agenda *Item #3, Project Update ~ Storrs Based Programs*. Her presentation highlighted the projects going to the Board of Trustees in October. Sean Vasington, University Landscape Architect, provided a detailed presentation on the Mirror Lake Improvements project. Trustee Gandara requested a discussion at the November Committee meeting of Mirror Lake safety issues as well as other campus areas that may be affected by extreme weather events.

On a motion by Mr. Archambault and seconded by Trustee Gouin, the Committee voted to go into Executive Session at 11:55 a.m. for a discussion concerning preliminary drafts or notes provided the public agency has determined that the public interest in withholding such documents clearly outweighs the public interest in disclosure; per Connecticut General Statutes, Section 210(b)(1).

Trustees participating in the session included: Chuck Bunnell, Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Justin Fang, Marilda Gandara, Jeanine Gouin, Thomas Ritter, and Daniel Toscano.

UConn Health Board of Directors members participating in the session included: Francis Archambault and Richard Carbray, Jr.

University staff participating in the session included: Interim President Agwunobi, Rachel Rubin, Lloyd Blanchard, Carl Lejuez, Nicole Gelston, Michael Kirk, Laura Cruickshank, Robert Corbett, Nathan LaVallee, Sean Vasington, Kristin Wirtanen, and Debbie Carone.

It was noted that the no votes would be taken during Executive Session and the Committee meeting would adjourn immediately following Executive Session. The Committee came out of Executive Session and adjourned on a motion by Mr. Archambault and seconded by Trustee Gouin, at 12:38 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Debbie I. Carone

Debbie L. Carone Secretary to the Committee