Telephone Meeting

University of Connecticut Board of Trustees Institutional Advancement Committee

MINUTES

Meeting held by Telephone September 21, 2021 **Committee Trustees:** Dr. Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Charles Bunnell, Shari G. Cantor, Jeanine A. Gouin, Rebecca Lobo, and Bryan K. Pollard **Additional Trustees:** Board Chair Daniel D. Toscano and Student Trustee Noah S. Frank **University Senate Representative:** Dr. David A. Yalof Guests: Melinda Brown Staff: Interim President Agwunobi, Nathan Fuerst, Mo Cotton Kelly, Provost Lejuez, Tysen Kendig, Michael Kirk, Jake Lemon, Joann Lombardo, Rachel Rubin, and Lesley Salafia Vice-Chair Dennis-LaVigne called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m. She welcomed everyone and thanked them for their time. Vice-Chair Dennis-LaVigne also congratulated Trustee Gouin on her recent re-election as Alumni Trustee. There were no members of the public who wished to address the Committee. Vice Chair Dennis-LaVigne called for a motion to approve minutes from June 22, 2021 and July 28, 2021. Trustee Gouin made a motion, but later withdrew that motion so each set of minutes could be approved separately. Vice-Chair Dennis-LaVigne called for a motion to approve meeting minutes from June 22, 2021. On a motion by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Trustee Lobo, the Committee voted to approve the minutes with one abstention from Trustee Pollard, who was not in attendance on June 22nd. Vice-Chair Dennis-LaVigne called for a motion to approve meeting minutes from July 28, 2021. On a motion by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Trustee Lobo, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the minutes. 3. Naming RecommendationsMr. Lemon UConn Foundation Senior Vice President for Development Lemon shared details regarding Carole and Ray Neag Professorship in the UConn School of Medicine. After Committee discussion, Vice-Chair Dennis-LaVigne called for a vote. On a motion by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Trustee Pollard, the

Committee voted unanimously to approve the Carole and Ray Neag Professorship.

UConn Foundation Senior Vice President for Development Lemon then shared with the Committee the Rhoda Shivers Chair in the School of Fine Arts. After Committee discussion, Vice-Chair Dennis LaVigne called for a vote. A motion made by Trustee Gouin, seconded by Trustee Cantor, the Committee voted unanimously to approve the Rhoda Shivers Chair.

4. Legislative Update......Ms. Lombardo

UConn's Senior Director for Governmental Relations Lombardo shared an update on legislative matters during the summer months. She noted Ms. Maureen Magnan was recently named Deputy Commissioner for the Department of Consumer Protection. A search for her replacement will starting.

5. UConn Foundation / Alumni / Communications Update......Ms. Cotton Kelly & Mr. Lemon

UConn Foundation Vice President for Alumni Relations and Communications Cotton Kelly shared recent successes for the Alumni Team including the Welcome the Neighborhood event. She also noted Ms. Dominque Matteson was recently hired as AVP for Annual Giving.

UConn Foundation Senior Vice President for Development Lemon noted the recent year-end fundraising results, which raised the bar despite being in a global pandemic. He noted there were many partners that contributed to the Foundation's success.

6. University Communications Update.......Mr. Kendig

UConn's Vice President for Communications Kendig shared details on the well-received press coverage for move-in and the incoming freshman class. He also thanked Associate Vice President Kirk for his work leading Communications during Vice President Kendig's special assignment in Athletics Communications. Vice President Kendig also shared the newest Admissions brochures, which will be shared with Trustees at their upcoming meeting on September 29, 2021.

- 7. Other Business
- 8. Executive Session (as needed)
- 9. Adjournment

On a motion by Trustee Pollard, seconded by Trustee Cantor, Vice-Chair Dennis-LaVigne adjourned the meeting at 1:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jen Cote Secretary to the Committee