MINUTES MEETING OF THE BUILDINGS, GROUNDS AND ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE University of Connecticut

University of Connecticut Teleconference September 14, 2021

TRUSTEES PARTICIPATING: Justin Fang, Marilda Gandara, Jeanine Gouin, Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Rebecca Lobo, and Thomas Ritter

BOARD OF DIRECTORS PARTICIPATING:

Francis Archambault, Richard Carbray

STAFF PARTICIPATING: Andy Agwunobi, Lloyd Blanchard, Patricia Casey, Debbie Carone, Christopher Cipriani, Robert Corbett, Laura Cruickshank, Gail Garber, Nicole Gelston, Michael Gilbert, Michael Jednak, Tysen Kendig, Michael Kirk, Frank LaRosa, Nathan LaVallee, Carl Lejuez, Lynn Lesniak, Susan Locke, Joann Lombardo, Stephanie Reitz, Rachel Rubin, Michael Schrier, Robert Sitkowski, Joseph Thompson, Thomas Trutter, Kristen Wirtanen, and Reka Wrynn

Vice-Chair Marilda Gandara convened a meeting of the Buildings, Grounds and Environment (BGE) Committee at 10:02 a.m. via teleconference and asked for a roll call of those on the telephone, and asked if there was anyone from the public who wished to speak. There being no requests for Public Comment, Trustee Gandara directed the Committee to agenda *Item* #2, *Approval of the Minutes of the Buildings, Grounds and Environment Committee Meeting of June 15, 2021.* On a motion by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne and seconded by Trustee Lobo, the item was approved.

The Committee reviewed agenda *Item #3, Reciprocal No-Build Easement with RMS Washington Boulevard, LLC at UConn Stamford;* and *agenda Item #4, Amendment to Access and Utility Easement with 402 Farmington Avenue LLC at UConn Health.* On a motion by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne and seconded the Mr. Archambault the items were reviewed and recommended to the full Board for approval.

The Committee was directed to agenda *Item #5, Office of Construction Assurance*. Frank LaRosa, Associate Vice President and Chief Audit Executive, reported that a review of the projects for the last two biennial years were complete. The report for 2017 and 2018 is anticipated to be available for presentation at the November 2021 BGE Committee meeting. The report for 2019 and 2020 is anticipated to be presented at the June 2022 BGE Committee meeting. A list of projects that are closed and have been tested to date are included within the meeting materials. Mr. LaRosa confirmed that the reports meet the statutory requirements for the University. Thomas Trutter, presented agenda *Item #8, UConn Health Updates, Facilities Development and Operations.* Vice Chair Gandara noted that Mr. Trutter was planning to retire from the University and thanked him for his years of service to the University and especially to the BGE Committee. President Agwunobi added his thanks and recognition for Tom's leadership on the BioScience Connecticut project. Trustee Gouin and Messrs. Carbray and Archambault each thanked Tom for his years of service and wished him luck in his next chapter. Mr. Trutter thanked everyone for their kind words. He presented a Power Point presentation that included an update on UConn Health's COVID 19 response; and Main Building Lab (L) Area Renovations – 3rd floor; and the Musculoskeletal Institute Building (MSI) Roof Top Unit Replacement; as well as the UConn Health Deferred Maintenance Spending Planning for FY22 Bond Funds.

Lloyd Blanchard, Interim Vice President for Finance and Chief Financial Officer, introduced Joseph Thompson, new Associate Vice President of University Business Services and Chief Procurement Officer. Mr. Thompson joined the University in July. The Committee welcomed him and looked forward to his reports at upcoming meetings.

Laura Cruickshank, Associate Vice President for University Planning, Design and Construction, detailed agenda *Item #6, Project Update ~ Storrs Based Programs*. Her presentation highlighted the projects going to the BOT in September including Public Safety Improvements; UPDC Relocation as well as the project for NER and Discovery Drive Intersection Improvements which is going to the Board in October. She briefed the committee on a number of on-going projects and provided a brief process update. Ms. Cruickshank noted new Executive Order 13G which replaced Executive Order 13D which pertains to contractors on State owned property. The Executive Order concerns a vaccination mandate by the State of Connecticut for "covered workers". Ms. Cruickshank is working with a number of inhouse and external agencies to determine the best way to manage the required mandate for contractors.

Vice Chair Gandara directed the Committee to Tab 12 of the materials for the 2022 Committee meeting schedule; she noted that the meeting locations are to be determined.

On a motion by Mr. Archambault and seconded by Trustee Gouin, the Committee voted to go into Executive Session at 10:45 a.m. for a discussion concerning preliminary drafts or notes provided the public agency has determined that the public interest in withholding such documents clearly outweighs the public interest in disclosure; per Connecticut General Statutes, Section 210(b)(1); and records pertaining to strategy and negotiations with respect to pending claims or pending litigation to which the public agency is a party until such litigation or claim has been finally adjudicated or otherwise settled pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes Section 1-210(b)(4).

Trustees participating in the session included: Justin Fang, Marilda Gandara, Jeanine Gouin, Andrea Dennis-LaVigne, Rebecca Lobo, and Thomas Ritter.

UConn Health Board of Directors members participating in the session included: Francis Archambault, Richard Carbray.

University staff participating in the session included: Interim President Agwunobi, Rachel Rubin, Nicole Gelston, Carl Lejuez, Lloyd Blanchard, Michael Kirk, Laura Cruickshank, Robert Corbett, Nathan LaVallee, Joann Lombardo, Gail Garber, Tysen Kendig, and Debbie Carone.

It was noted that the no votes would be taken during Executive Session and the BGE Committee meeting would adjourn after Executive Session. The Committee came out of Executive session and adjourned at 12:14 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Debbie L. Carone

Debbie L. Carone Secretary to the Committee