MINUTES MEETING OF THE ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COMMITTEE April 28, 2021

Committee Trustees:	Dennis-LaVigne, Fang, Gouin, Lobo and Rubin
Additional Trustees:	Bessette, Boxer, Bunnell, Cantor, Gandara, O'Connor, Ritter, Toscano, and Werstler
University Senate:	Bird, Boyer, Chafouleas, Polifroni, Seth, and Van Heest
Staff:	Agwunobi, Blanchard, Bradford, Buffkin, Cruickshank, Daniels, Gelston, Geoghegan, Gilbert, Henderson, Hritcko, Irizarry, Jednak, Jordan, Kazerounian, Katsouleas, Kendig, Kersaint, Lejuez, Lepowsky, Maric, Nelson, Rubin, and Weiner

Committee Chairwoman Gouin convened the meeting at 8:30 a.m. via phone call.

No public comment was volunteered on any of the agenda items.

On a motion by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, seconded by Trustee Fang, the minutes of the February 24, 2021 meeting were approved as circulated.

Provost Lejuez introduced Action Item #2 Designation as Board of Trustees Distinguished Professors, Academic Year 2020-2021. Moved by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Fang, the Committee recommended approval to the full Board.

Provost Lejuez introduced *Action Item #3 Promotion and Tenure* Moved by Trustee Fang, seconded by Trustee Rubin, the Committee recommended approval to the full Board.

Provost Lejuez introduced *Action Item #4 Sabbatical Leave Recommendations*. Moved by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee recommended approval to the full Board.

Provost Lejuez introduced Action Items #5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 & 11; Appointment of Professor David Weber, PhD to the Deloitte Foundation Professorship of Accounting in the School of Business, Reappointment of Professor Robert Bird, PhD to the Eversource Chair in Business Ethics in the School of Business, Reappointment of Professor Chinmoy Ghosh, PhD to the Gladstein Professor of Business and Innovation in the School of Business, Reappointment of Professor Nicholas H. Lurie, PhD to the Voya Financial Professor in the School of Business, Reappointment of Professor Michael Willenborg, PhD to the Richard F. Kochanek Professorship in Accounting in the School of Business, Reappointment of Professor Joseph Golec, PhD to the Finance Department Distinguished Scholar in the School of Business and Appointment of Associate Professor Guojin Gong, PhD as the Deloitte Foundation Faculty Fellow in the School of Business. Moved by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Fang, the Committee recommended approval to the full Board.

Provost Lejuez introduced *Action Item #12 Doctor of Philosophy in Integrative Studies*. Moved by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Fang, the Committee recommended approval to the full Board.

Provost Lejuez introduced *Action Item #13 Master of Arts in Human Rights*. Moved by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Fang, the Committee recommended approval to the full Board.

Provost Lejuez introduced Action Items #13 & #14; Master of Science in Business Research and Master of Science in Financial Technology (Fintech). Moved by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Fang, the Committee recommended approval to the full Board.

Provost Lejuez introduced *Action Item #16 Master of Laws in Governance, Risk-Management and Compliance*. Moved by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Fang, the Committee recommended approval to the full Board.

Provost Lejuez introduced Action Items #17, #18, & #19; Post-Master's Nurse Leader Certificate, Post-Master's Nurse Educator Certificate, and Graduate Certificate in Dementia Care. Moved by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Fang, the Committee recommended approval to the full Board.

Provost Lejuez introduced *Action Item #20 Naming Recommendation for the Vergnano Institute for Inclusion in the School of Engineering*. Moved by Trustee Rubin, seconded by Trustee Dennis-LaVigne, the Committee recommended approval to the full Board.

Provost Lejuez shared *Informational Items; Notification of Proposed Changes to the* By-Laws of the University of Connecticut, *Academic Program Inventory, Faculty Consulting Program Reports*, and *Tenure Track Reappointments*.

Provost Lejuez introduced newly appointed Deans and Vice Provosts; Vice Provost for Strategic Initiatives Gladis Kersaint, School of Pharmacy Dean Philip Hritcko, School of Dental Medicine Dean Steven Lepowsky, Neag School of Education Interim Dean Jason Irizarry, and School of Law Dean Eboni Nelson. Each individual presented briefly on their work.

Trustee Dennis-LaVigne called a motion to close the meeting, seconded by Trustee Rubin. Chairwoman Gouin adjourned the meeting at 9:41 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sarah K. Croucher Committee Secretary